Director of Culture | Mr Matt Cocking

2018 Appointments

At the end of 2017, Mr Brad Esbensen stepped down from the Director of Music role. On behalf of the College (parents, staff, students – past and present), I would like to extend a sincere, "Thank you" to Brad for his warmth, knowledge, encouragement, sincerity and willingness to go the extra mile.

I would like to welcome Mr Jan Hewerdine to the position. Jan has been part of the Terrace Music program for a number of years. He brings many years of experience and expertise in both education and performance to the role. Welcome Jan and we all look forward to working with you.

There have been other new appointments to the Music portfolio over the Christmas break. Welcome to:

Ms Sophie Collis – Double Bass

Mr Graham Ritchie – Guitar and Electric Bass

Mr Michael Manikus – Piano and Keyboard

Mr Greg Moore – Speech and Drama

I’d like to publicly thank the efforts of, Mr David Jon O’Niel, Mr Chris Palmer, Ms Amanda Tio and Mr Julian Wade for their excellent work over their years here.

This year, we also welcome Mr Liam Herne as our Terrace Chess Coordinator. Mr Herne is well known to the students and will continue to grow our Chess squad with our two expert coaches Mr Tyson Walker and Mr Charles Tsai. I would like to thank Mr Bruce Devine on behalf of the Chess community for his excellence in leadership and vision which along with hours of hard work and passion brought our Chess squad to its current level.

Support Group Meetings

Debating Support Group – Tuesday 23 January, 5.30pm in the Old Boys’ Room

Terrace Performing Arts – Tuesday 23 January, 5.30pm in the Callan Centre